Adamant: Hardest metal
Sunday, June 29, 2003

The big loser is once again the people of Venezuela

<a href=www.vheadline.com>Venezuela's Electronic News Posted: Monday, June 16, 2003 By: Luis Zuleta

Date: Mon, 16 Jun 2003 18:52:39 -0300 From: Luis Zuleta luiszuleta@hotmail.com To: Editor@VHeadline.com Subject: There is no "crisis" in Venezuela?

Dear Editor: I have written a few times to VHeadline.com because I do like the fact that regardless of what my opinion is (or anyone else's) there is a space for us in you website. I also like the fact that, because of this, there is always room for debate and we can express our opinions about the thoughts of other participants.

With regard to Mr. Elio Cequea's latest letter where he suggests that the Venezuelan "crisis" is almost exclusively the creation of the privately-owned domestic print & broadcast media" I simply have one question; are you kidding me?

It doesn't even matter whether you support Mr. Chavez or not (and I don't) but to suggest that this is a "virtual" crisis is insane. I had my doubts on whether Mr. Cequea actually lives in Venezuela, not anymore.

The Venezuelan crisis is undeniable and his views on journalism are absurd and as much as you can criticize Venezuelan journalism there is nothing in his letter that would help make the situation better in this country.

There is a tremendous crisis in Venezuela and unfortunately the government (and the opposition) keeps on worsening it. I think the worst part about it is that NOBODY is trying to solve the crisis because both sides simply keep on trying to defeat the other, take revenge on the other ... I become President and I'm going to take away your privileges; you took away my privileges I call on a strike; you call a strike I won't sell you dollars and strangle you while I import everything. The big loser is once again the people of Venezuela.

The Venezuelan opposition has been mediocre at best, but I firmly believe that the government of Venezuela has NEVER made an effort to unify this already divided society, a society that believed Mr. Chavez' promise of "cleaning up" Venezuela. But it wasn't long before it became painfully obvious that our President had lost sight of the fact that we wanted him (regardless of whether we voted for him or not) to get rid of those who destroyed the country and move on to better times, instead, he started wasting time and resources trying to get rid of those who simply didn't share his views, and in his paranoia he didn't realize (and still doesn't) that that is impossible to tolerate in a democratic system.

Best regards Luis Zuleta luiszuleta@hotmail.com

You are not logged in