Adamant: Hardest metal
Sunday, May 18, 2003

Gabriel Garcia Marquez writes a letter to his friends...

Posted: Friday, May 09, 2003 By: Gustavo Coronel

VHeadline.com commentarist Gustavo Coronel writes: Nobel Prize winner Gabriel Garcia Marquez is not in good health. This has prompted him to write a letter to his friends which I have received via Internet, where it can be read not only by his personal friends but by his numerous admirers all over the World. For those who do not read spanish I have made a translation which, I hope, transmits something of its original beauty.

From Gabo to his friends...

"If for an instant God would forget that I am a rag doll and gave me a bit more life, I would make optimum use of that time. Possibly, I would not say all that I think, but I would definitely think before I say. I would value things not for their face value but for their significance. I would sleep little, would dream more ... since for every minute that we close our eyes we lose sixty seconds of light ... I would walk when others rest and would be awake when others sleep. If God gave me the gift of a bit of life, I would dress unpretentiously, I would lie down under the sun, not only naked of body but of soul ... I would tell men that they are wrong in believing that they should not fall in love when they grow old, but that they grow old when they stop falling in love!

I would give a child wings, but would let him learn to fly on his own. To the old, I would say that death does not derive from old age, but from being forgotten.

I have learned so much from you, men ... I have learned that everybody wants to live on top of the hill without realizing that true happiness lies in the climbing of the escarpment. I have learned that when a new-born baby first squeezes, with his little hand, his father's finger he owns him forever. I have learned that the only time a man has the right to look down on another man is when he is helping him to his feet.

I have learned so much from you but, really, all will be of little use, because when they put me in that suitcase, unfortunately I will be dying...

Always say what you feel and do what you think...

If I knew that today was the last time I would see you going to sleep, I would hold you tight and pray to God that I could be the guardian of your soul. If I knew that these were the last minutes I see you I would say to you "I love you" and would not foolishly assume that you know it.

There is always a tomorrow and life gives us another chance to do the right thing but, if I am wrong and today is all there is, I would like to tell you how much I love you, that I will never forget you. No one is guaranteed a tomorrow, young or old . Today it could be the last time that you see your loved ones. If tomorrow never comes, you will surely be sorry you did not take the time for a smile, for an embrace, for a kiss and that you were too busy to satisfy a last wish. Keep those you love near you, whisper in their ears how much you need them, love them, treat them well, take time to say "I am sorry", "forgive me", "please", "thank you" and all the loving words you know...

Nobody will remember you for your secret thoughts...

Ask the Lord for the strength and wisdom to express them ... tell your loved ones how much they mean to you..."

This is the letter from Gabriel Garcia Marquez to his friends ... in writing it, he is preparing for a journey that many other distinguished travelers have undertaken before him ... a long line of great minds and great hearts ... who have created exquisite beauty with the rather modest tools of humanity. His work has added significantly to the wonder of Man... Man, who, although condemned to death remains defiant, addressing an audience that he, she feels will be listening beyond the remotest stars.

Gustavo Coronel is the founder and president of Agrupacion Pro Calidad de Vida (The Pro-Quality of Life Alliance), a Caracas-based organization devoted to fighting corruption and the promotion of civic education in Latin America, primarily Venezuela. A member of the first board of directors (1975-1979) of Petroleos de Venezuela (PDVSA), following nationalization of Venezuela's oil industry, Coronel has worked in the oil industry for 28 years in the United States, Holland, Indonesia, Algiers and in Venezuela. He is a Distinguished alumnus of the University of Tulsa (USA) where he was a Trustee from 1987 to 1999. Coronel led the Hydrocarbons Division of the Inter-American Development Bank (IADB) in Washington DC for 5 years. The author of three books and many articles on Venezuela ("Curbing Corruption in Venezuela." Journal of Democracy, Vol. 7, No. 3, July, 1996, pp. 157-163), he is a fellow of Harvard University and a member of the Harvard faculty from 1981 to 1983.  In 1998, he was presidential election campaign manager for Henrique Salas Romer and now lives in retirement on the Caribbean island of Margarita where he runs a leading Hotel-Resort.  You may contact Gustavo Coronel at email gustavo@vheadline.com

You are not logged in