Adamant: Hardest metal
Tuesday, April 15, 2003

Female Student Athlete of the Month-April --Fourth-year Women's Softball third baseman, Ruby Rojas, discusses the challenges she faces on and off the field

Virginia Sports April 14, 2003

CHARLOTTESVILLE - Student Athlete-of-the-Month showcases athletes who have demonstrated excellence both on the playing field and in the classroom. The April Female Student Athlete-of-the-Month, fourth-year Ruby Rojas has displayed a strong work ethic in her academic and athletic endeavors. A double major in Women's Studies and Sociology from Santa Ana, CA, Rojas was one of the 10 UVa Golden Anniversary Team honorees and selected to the 50th Anniversary Softball team.

Q: You are originally from Venezuela, correct? When did you move to the states?

A: When I was two my family moved to southern California to Santa Ana.

Q: When did you become involved with softball?

A: My family has always been huge baseball fanatics. My dad got me into softball when I was ten and I absolutely fell in love with it and I've been playing ever since!

Q: What brought you all the way across the country to Virginia?

A: Primarily the academics associated with this school. I basically liked the overall environment of UVa and felt comfortable being here. I think it was a great decision for me!

Q: Who or what has influenced your life the most?

A: My parents are my biggest influence. They have always been there for me, always encouraged me to work hard and do well. I have 110% of their support in everything I do and they have been my greatest motivation in both softball and in life.

Q: What has been the most memorable moment of your softball career?

A: Playing in the Women's World Cup this past summer in Canada was amazing. I was recruited to play at the age of 17 and have been playing with this team every summer since. It is one of the highest levels of competition and we basically travel all over Canada playing different teams for one month. This summer I played some of the best players in the world and my team made it to the World Cup.

Q: How did you feel when you were named one of the 10 UVa Golden Anniversary Team honorees? What does it mean to you to have been selected to the 50th Anniversary Softball team?

A: I was delighted when I was named to the team, it was such an honor. The ACC definitely has lots of great teams and it's an overall highly competitive conference. So I was kind of shocked to be selected to receive this great honor. It really hasn't affected my performance this season because I'm really trying to stay focused on our games.

Q: What is the most difficult thing about being a student athlete at Virginia? Why?

A: I would have to say the stigma attached with being an athlete. We are always being watched academically and athletically. People think we get extra privileges and there is a stereotype that athletes like to cut corners. But we don't.

Q: What do you do in your free time?

A: When I have free time, I try to hang out with friends as much as possible. I like to go to the movies and just spend time relaxing. During the season though, I get free time once a week if I'm lucky!

Q: Are you graduating this year?

A: Yes, I will be graduating this May and then I'm going to graduate school at Longbeach State in California. I will be studying Physical Education and will be a graduate assistant for the softball team.

Q: Where do you see yourself in ten years?

A: I definitely think that in ten years I'll be coaching college softball and eventually I'd like to coach a national softball team.   University of Virginia Softball

This website is served by the Official College Sports network. Website concerns can be sent to our suggestion box.   All rights reserved. Click here to view our Privacy Policy.

You are not logged in