Adamant: Hardest metal
Wednesday, March 26, 2003

President Chavez has helped bring truly democratic reforms to the people

Venezuela Electronic News Posted: Tuesday, March 25, 2003 By: Cliff Tew

Date: Mon, 24 Mar 2003 18:29:37 EST From: Cliff Tew  CHAVEGAN@aol.com To: editor@vheadline.com Subject: Chavez Frias

Dear Editor: I have read articles from your site a few times. It is a good site, here in America it is refreshing to read good foreign journalism.

I have been following President Chavez since the coup attempt over a year ago.

I was very sorry to read of my government's involvement in the affair ... most of our people here can't find Venezuela on a map, yet we are a huge part of the problems that are facing your country.

I work with a woman who is Venezuelan, she thinks Chavez is Castro junior ... I have tried to convince her that he is simply an elected President who is trying to use his country's resources for the good of his people.

I am convinced that, for Venezuela to experience true democracy, the people of my country have to wake up to the fact that we have by use of force reduced resource-rich Latin America to a role of servitude.

I don't know how much I can do to educate my fellow citizens about the world around them ... we are too concerned with Britney Spears' hips and Pepsi Cola to even think about Venezuela.

But I know that I have been enriched by learning about the truly democratic reforms that President Chavez has helped bring to the people, and I'll do what I can to let other people know that there is a continent to the south of us.

Peace and Blessings, Cliff Tew CHAVEGAN@aol.com Winston-Salem N.C., USA

You are not logged in