Adamant: Hardest metal
Tuesday, March 18, 2003

Voices from around South Carolina - What do people around the state think of President Bush's speech and the pending war?

www.thestate.com Posted on Tue, Mar. 18, 2003

"Basically, (President George W. Bush's message) was short and to the point. I was surprised that nothing was said about a heightened security alert."

Carl Thompson, 25, of Columbia. He's a graduate of USC and working at Damon's Clubhouse.

"I thought that George Bush, as expected, was very simple and to the point. .‘.‘. I was surprised he didn't mention France and Germany .‘.‘. I guess that's not really relevant now. We're going to war."

Rod Dobson, 40, of Columbia

"America has been very patient. I don't think anybody wants to see us have to go to war. .‘.‘. Over the years, we haven't been able to keep our freedom by backing down. The longer we wait, the more of an opportunity we're giving Saddam to terrorize us."

Heather Riddle, 24, Northeast Richland

"I wasn't expecting it to happen so soon. Whatever is better for the world is what I want. I just want world peace."

Oscar Cabrices, 19, a USC chemistry student from Venezuela, one of 25 students watching at the Russell House University Union.

"President Bush drew a vivid picture for Saddam tonight. .‘.‘. I think (Bush) has no other option under the circumstances."

Johnny Deal, 41, Camden

"I support my president. I think everyone should stand behind the president."

Margie Cone, 59, of Columbia, a homemaker.

"I was pretty much prepared for what he was going to say. I think if they go over there and quickly find what they're looking for, that would change everyone's minds."

David McQuillan, 53, of Columbia, a map librarian at USC, was at Damon's. He had been listening to the speech on the four-hour ride from Raleigh to Columbia.

"As president, (Bush's) first responsibility is to protect American citizens, and by doing this, he'll achieve that goal."

Kyle Gunn, 35, Columbia

"I think it (the case) was made long before the speech. It's about time they finally decided to just do it. I was glad to see they set a deadline."

Tina McGrory, 40, Irmo-area housewife, mother of a 12-year-old girl "

"We can't let a bully get away with this."

Barbara McQuillan, 57, a paralegal, from Columbia. She thinks war started on Sept. 11, 2001.

"The most important thing (about the speech) was that he gave Saddam 48 hours to leave Iraq. .‘.‘. at 8:16 (p.m.) when (Bush) finished his speech, protests should end. (The) American people need to come together and stand behind men and women in uniform regardless of what they feel. We all need to come together at this moment until this is over."

Larry Ware, 62, of Chapin, retired from the Michigan Army National Guard as a brigadier general, Desert Storm veteran

"America should be more cooperative with the world. I pray that the world is much more safe after this. Nobody in the world wants Saddam Hussein (in power). But, the whole world should be behind it (if we head to war). In the Gulf War, everybody was behind it. But somewhere down the line we, as Americans, have failed in our diplomacy."

Dr. Syed Hassan, 50, college professor, who l Ives In The Irmo Area

"I don't think we have any choice but to do this. Sept. 11 was the Pearl Harbor of this war. To not act knowing everything we know would be suicide."

John Cone, 61, of Columbia, executive director of the S.C. Home Builders Association.

"I think (Bush made the case for war), how many lines in the sand can you draw? Of course, I had hoped we would have avoided it, but you have to do what you have to do."

John Kerce, 53-year-old business owner from Lexington, who has a 21-year-old son on the USS Constellation

"He (Bush) had a lot of valid points. Saddam had multiple opportunities to disarm. They've had long enough, it's time to go in. It was a fair, a good choice that he is giving Saddam. I don't think he'll leave."

Paul Sadler, 20-year-old personal trainer at the YMCA, from the Irmo area

"It was pretty much what I thought he was going to say. I back the president 100 percent. I think the case has been made for a long time. Saddam has had a chance to come clean, but he blew it. It's time for us to act and do what needs to be done ."

Capt. Todd Helms, 38, of West Columbia, headquarters commander for the Army Reserve's 310th Personnel Group. He's been mobilized since Feb. 10 and is expecting to be shipped out any day. He is the father of three.

"It's sad. I was sitting there crying. When he said 48 hours, that's when it hit."

Kathryn Helms, 37, of West Columbia, wife of Capt. Todd Helms

"I'm just really glad that he's setting a date instead of keeping putting them off and giving Saddam more time to get ready .‘.‘. .If we're going to have to go to war, I'd rather do it sooner than later. It's already been a month and a half already; I'm just ready for him to come home and get it all over with."

Rachel Morris, 22, of Greenville, wife of Richard Allen Morris Jr., a corporal with the Marines Corps 2nd Light Armor Reconnaissance, who deployed to Kuwait Feb. 7. Mother of a 4-month-old and 19-month-old.

You are not logged in