Adamant: Hardest metal
Monday, January 6, 2003

Abuse of Power - Chavez: "Even if 90% votes me out, I will not go"

Venezuela's dictator declares in advance that he will not respect the result of a direct and democratic election.

One of the favorite phrases of Venezuelan leader Hugo Chavez is that "I am a servant of the people, and when the people does not want me anymore, I will leave office."

So why won't Chavez agree to free and democratic elections today in Venezuela?

On November 4 2002, members of the opposition delivered boxes to the National Electorate Council containing 1.5 million signatures. The signatures all requested a referendum, just like the Constitution sets out. On their way to the Council, they were attacked by mobs of violent Chavez supporters armed with bricks, metal bars and even guns. Many ended up in hospital, but the signatures got delivered.

Cornered, Chavez then fought back in his weekly TV-show Alo Presidente ("Hello President"). Here are some of his comments:

  • " - Referendum to remove Chávez? That is not possible, don't waste time. I will not go in a referendum, I say that to the country and the world. It's like this: I won't go."
  • " - Referendum to remove Chávez? Look, that won't happen, forget about it. It won't happen."
  • " - Ah, no, no, forget about fairytales."
  • " - Not even if we suppose that they hold that referendum and get 90% of the votes, I will not leave. Forget it. I will not leave." Is this a democrat speaking? Or a de-facto dictator?

(Source: Official transcript 'Aló Presidente' N°128, Petare, 24/NOV/2002 04:59 PM)

You are not logged in