Adamant: Hardest metal
Friday, June 13, 2003

Why exactly should Venezuelan exiles be allowed to vote?

<a href=www.vheadline.com>Venezuela's Electronic News Posted: Thursday, June 05, 2003 By: Dawn Gable

Date: Thu, 05 Jun 2003 01:29:40 +0000 From: Dawn Gable morning_ucsc@hotmail.com To: Editor@VHeadline.com Subject: exile vote

Dear Editor: I don't understand. Why exactly should exiles be allowed to vote?

I was born in California. But then I lived in Michigan ... I was not allowed to vote in California elections while I lived in Michigan. In fact, I cannot even vote in the next county over. I vote according to where I live on issues that directly and immediately affect where I live.

There are reasons for this:  One, Californians do not want to have to live with the consequences of what Michiganders might vote for (say a nuclear waste dump in the central valley of California). And two, the Michiganders would be free of the consequences of their votes. Talk about NIMBY (not in my back yard) chaos!

I believe that US citizens abroad can vote in US federal level elections ... but I don't know about those who have given up residential status. I'm sure those who no longer pay US taxes may no longer vote in the US.

I know that Mexicans living in the US are not allowed to vote in Mexico's Presidential elections via absentee ballot even if they are still Mexican citizens and still legally considered residents of Mexico.

  • Cuban exiles are definitely not allowed to vote in Cuban elections (and YES they do hold elections in Cuba).

I guess I always thought that the right to vote was something you earned by being a participating member of your community, state, and/or country.

Why should those who abandoned their country be allowed to take part in the decision making process.

Why should they have any influence over the daily life that they refuse to participate in.

Not to mention: I am sure those living abroad are not paying taxes to the Venezuelan government on earnings they are making abroad. This is a requirement for US citizens living abroad.

Dawn Gable morning_ucsc@hotmail.com

You are not logged in